Day tours by driver guide

The large coaches miss the best parts and the Cotswolds and will not show you the hidden gems. You can only see the Cotswolds by walking, cycling or by driving in a small vehicle. Our driver guides, with expert local knowledge of its traditions history and scenic beauty will bring it all to life.

Cotswold website picture

Our private day tours allow you to follow your own interests and travel at your own pace.Your driver guide will take you to places many visitors miss and only the locals know.

Full day tour excluding entrance fees to attractions  

 1-3 people £330, 4-6 people £360

 

 

Cots wold tours N&S Large

A Day in the North Cotswolds.

We will arrive at your door to start the day in style, picking you up at your chosen place and time. Each of the towns are about 6 or 7 miles apart. This is the distance villagers would walk from one town to the next for work.

North Cotswold tour in Blue 

South Cotswold Tour in Red

This is a story of Wool and Stone. –

Wool was the great cash commodity in medieval  times  and sheep grazed the open fields. The towns grew up after the Norman conquest along the streams and rivers used for the buffing of the wool.

 

Sheep

Stone – Limestone is the main building material giving the wonderful honey colour to the houses towns throughout the landscape.

Our journey will take us through Winchcombe once the Saxon capital of Mercia to Stanton and Stanway where John Wesley preached. 13thC Hayles Abbey and church, now a ruin, shows the simplicity of ancient worship.

 

We drive on to Broadway with its wide coach route we can visit quality shops in Tudor surroundings. If you are animal lovers we will see 2 packs of English fox hounds. On to Snowshill with a chance to visit the fascinating hand crafted collection of Charles Wade at the Manor and see the village where Renee Zelweger filmed the first scenes of Bridget Jones Diary. The Lavender fields in July are a treat as the fields turn the most vivid blue at the Lavender farm. The oils are a great local souvenir.

IMG_2312To Broadway Tower and stroll along the road taking your photos of some of the finest thatched cottages in the Cotswolds, as we drive through to the market town of Chipping Campden.  Tea rooms pubs and coffee houses are all on offer. This was the centre of the Art and Craft movement in the 19thC after many artists brought their crafts, escaping the chaos of East London, to the quite tranquillity and cheaper real estate of  the Cotswolds.

 

 

To Stow on the Wold. You will want time here to explore the square with its antique shops and a great selection of interior design outlets. Charity shops should not be missed as they often throw up a hidden treasure.

 

The Slaughters can only be seen by small vehicle as we slowly drive through the quite country villages of Upper and ower Slaugter. Not as brutal as it sounds – mean ‘A watery place’ – nothing to do with slaughtering animals. Artists often set up their easels capturing the scene.

A tranquil Cotswold scene

A tranquil Cotswold scene

Bourton on Water – The Venice of the Cotswolds ! We have to be careful not to visit at prime times in summer as it can also be the most beautiful town in the Cotswolds – spoilt by people. Your guide will time your visit to make sure you enjoy the town without the many large coach loads of people that come to this one place where they can park. The beginning or later in the day is the best time – Another reason to have your own driver.

 

Through Greater and Little Rissington to the town of Burford.

Shops and restaurants

Shops and restaurants

This pretty Cotswold Town is often regarded as being the gateway to the Cotwolds as it is the first town along the A40 from Oxford that visitors appreciate the limestone houses lined along the main High Street. Here, we often stop for lunch or coffee depending upon the time of day  we arrive.

 

The South Cotswolds

 

A drive along the 2,000 year old roman road takes us from North to South Cotswolds. The most idyllic drive early morning following the flow of the River Coln takes us through unknown and unspoilt villages to Barnsley: the home and garden of Rosemary Verey, and on to Bibury. Willam Morris, the great designer  in the  19thC, said this was the prettiest village in England. The trout farm and ancient Mill surrounded by protected nature reserve certainly has unique charm.

cotswold

Picturesque Bibury

We make our way through the backroads to Filkins and the home of the Cotswold Weavers. Here we find both Wool and Stone. Superb garments for both men and women, blankets and throws, in traditional and modern styles allow you to purchase items that are true quality. The museum style presentation shows us the story of wool from bygone days. A master stone mason carves limestone onsite allowing us to see this skilful ancient craft. Full day courses in stone carving can also be arranged.

Cotswold tours

Picturesque Villages

To Fairford Church. This is a favour visit to a church that is a magnificent example of 16thC architecture but you would not expect the treasures within. Here we have the finest example of stain glass from the early 1500s. All other parish churches had their glass destroyed in the Protestant Reformation in the 16thC . Fairford Church’s glass survived for some reason, and can be seen today in its full glory.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To Lechlade and the river Thames and across to Cirencester, Tetbury, Malmesbury. We can visit the magnificent Roman Settlement at Chedworth before returning to your hotel.

 

 

 

 

 

The tour could include these places in no particular order. I have listed their web address if you have time to look through:-

Oxford and its colleges

Day tour to Wales

Stratford upon Avon & Shakespeare       www.visitstratforduponavon.co.uk

RSC Theatre Stratford         www.rsc.org.uk

Shakespeare Properties      www.shakespeare.org.uk

Bath & Roman Baths           www.bath.co.uk

Bath Costume Museum      www.fashionmuseum.co.uk

 

Warwick Castle                  www.warwick-castle.com

Blenheim Palace                www.blenheimpalace.com

Sudeley Castle                   www.sudeleycastle.co.uk

The Cotswold Weavers     www.cotswoldwoollenweavers.co.uk

Coughton Court                 www.coughtoncourt.co.uk

Packwod House                https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/packwood-house

Sulgrave Manor                www.sulgravemanor.org.uk

Waddeston Manor           https://waddesdon.org.uk

Kiftsgate Court                www.kiftsgate.co.uk

Croombe                         www.nationaltrust.org.uk/croome

Warwick Castle               www.warwick-castle.com

Stonehenge                    www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/stonehenge/history

Lacock Abbey Fox Talbot Museum  www.nationaltrust.org.uk/lacock-abbey-fox-talbot-museum-and-village

Avebury                                     https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/avebury

Berkeley Castle                          www.berkeley-castle.com

Edward Jenner House               https://jennermuseum.com

Basildon Park                             https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/basildon-park

St. Margaret’s Church Fairford     http://stmaryschurchfairford.org.uk

Baddesley Clinton                  https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/baddesley-clinton

Back to Backs                       https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/birmingham-back-to-backs

Brockhampton Estate           https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/brockhampton-estate

Charlcote Park                     www.nationaltrust.org.uk/charlecote-park

Farnborough Hall                 https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/farnborough-hall

Hanbury Hall                       https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/hanbury-hall-and-gardens

Kelmscot House                 www.sal.org.uk/kelmscott-manor

Packwood House               https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/packwood-house

Upton House                      https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/upton-house

Wightwick Manor                https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/wightwick-manor-and-gardens

Berrington Hall                                                  https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/berrington-hall

Canons Abbey                                                   https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/canons-abbey

Tyntesfield                                                         https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/tyntesfield

Buscot Park                                                        https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/buscot-park

Chastleton House                                            https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/chastleton-house

Chedworth Roman Villa                                https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/chedworth-roman-villa

Dyrham Park                                                      https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/dyrham-park

Newark Park                                                      https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/newark-park

Batsford Falconry                                             www.cotswold-falconry.co.uk

Morgan Car Factory                                        www.morgan-motor.co.uk

Prescott Hill Climb                                            www.prescott-hillclimb.com

 

Gardens:-

 

David Austen Roses                       www.davidaustinroses.co.uk

Batsford Arboretum                        www.batsarb.co.uk/

The Courts Garden                        https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/chedworth-roman-villa

Hidcote Manor                                https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/hidcote

Snowshill Manor                              https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/snowshill-manor

Stourhead Gardens                         https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/stourhead-gardens

Malmesbury Abbey Gardens           www.abbeyhousegardens.co.uk

Highgrove Garden – HRH Prince Charles www.highgrovegardens.com

 

visit the cotswolds

 

Explore villages in a private group and avoid the crowds.

Explore villages in a private group and avoid the crowds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

top